This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.


Our Leadership

John Menzies | Boardroom
Dr. Dermot F. Smurfit
Chairman - Appointed July 2016

Dermot brings a wealth of cross-industry experience to bear on his leadership of the Company.

He previously served as Chairman of Powerflute Oyj and was joint Deputy Chairman of Jefferson Smurfit Group PLC (1994- 2003) and its worldwide Director of Sales and Marketing (1997-2003). Prior to this he held a number of other senior positions within the group.

Dermot is a former Chairman of Anker PLC, Peach Holdings PLC, the World Containerboard Organisation and FEFCO, the European Federation of Corrugated Board Manufacturers. He was also previously Chairman of Eurolink Motorway Services Limited and a Director of ACE Limited, Aon BV., Timber Capital Limited and The Forest Company Limited.


Forsyth Black
Chief Executive Officer - Appointed September 2018

During the course of his 17 year career with the Group, Forsyth has worked in a number of commercial and operational leadership roles across the Aviation Division and most recently served as Managing Director of Menzies Distribution.

Forsyth brings a wealth of commercial, managerial and business development experience to the Board, having launched and grown our African Aviation business, established our Aviation business in India and led the entry of Menzies Distribution into the parcel delivery market.

Giles Wilson
Executive Director: Chief Financial Officer - Appointed June 2016

Giles brings great financial acumen and a deep knowledge of the Aviation Services market to his role on the Board.

He has worked with the Group since 2011 in a variety of senior roles, including Finance Director of Menzies Aviation and Senior Vice President of the Group’s African, Middle East and Indian Operations.

A chartered accountant, he was formerly Finance Director of Commercial Estates Group and held senior finance positions at Gallaher Group PLC, including Finance Director UK.

John Geddes
Executive Director: Corporate Affairs Director & Group Company Secretary - Appointed November 2016

John has held the position of Group Company Secretary since 2006, having joined the Group in 1997. He was appointed to the Board in late 2016 and is a member of IATA’s Ground Operations Group.

John has extensive knowledge of both Operating Divisions and his responsibilities include Governance, Risk and Investor Relations.

As a Chartered Secretary, John’s career has included Company Secretariat posts at Bank of Scotland plc and Guinness plc.

David Garman
Non-Executive Director - Appointed June 2015

David brings comprehensive industrial experience and logistics sector expertise to the Board.

He was previously Chief Executive of TDG plc, a European contract logistics and supply chain management business; an Executive Director of Associated British Foods plc; held Non-Executive directorships at St Modwen Properties PLC, Kewill Limited, Victoria PLC and Phoenix IT Group PLC: and occupied a variety of management roles at United Biscuits.

Silla Maizey
Non-Executive Director - Appointed May 2014

Silla is a qualified accountant and brings extensive experience of the air travel industry to the Board.

She enjoyed an Executive career at British Airways (1978-2012) holding a number of roles within Finance, Procurement, Corporate Responsibility and Customer Services. Most recently Silla served as Managing Director of London Gatwick.

Geoff Eaton
Non-Executive Director - Appointed June 2015

Geoff is a chartered accountant and has had an extensive Executive career, with roles including Chief Operating Officer of Premier Foods plc and Chief Executive Officer of Uniq plc. He has a considerable businessto-business track record in both Europe and the United States, experience of diverse corporate cultures and brings extensive international business experience to his Board position.

Paul Baines
Non-Executive Director - Appointed June 2016

Paul brings extensive Corporate Finance experience to the Board.

Since 2013 Paul has held senior advisory roles with Vermilion, a leading China-based investment banking firm, and Smith Square Partners, a UK-based independent corporate advisory firm. He served Hawkpoint Partners, a then leading independent corporate advisory business, as Chief Executive (2003-2009) and Executive Chairman (2009-2013); was a main board director of Collins Stewart Hawkpoint plc (2006-2012); and, prior to joining Hawkpoint Partners in 2000, was Chief Executive (Corporate Finance Division) of Charterhouse Bank.

Philipp Joeinig
Non-Executive Director - Appointed June 2017

Philipp brings a deep understanding of the Aviation Services industry to the Board, having occupied a number of senior roles within Swissport International Limited over a nine year period (2007-2016), latterly as Executive VicePresident covering Europe Central, East and West. Prior to this his career included management consultant roles with both Management Consulting Group PLC and Lausanne Consulting Group Limited.